About the Foundation Board

By John Stabinger
Posted on 28 September 2017 | 4:01 pm

About the Foundation Board


The Mission of the College of Charleston Foundation is to promote programs of education, research, student development, and faculty development for the exclusive benefit of the College of Charleston.


Chartered by the State of South Carolina in 1970 as a nonprofit 501(c)(3) corporation, the College of Charleston Foundation, Inc. is governed by a 31-member Board of Directors.

As a 509 (a) (1), public charity, the College of Charleston Foundation follows an interdependent model of working with the College of Charleston. Key members of executive leadership for the College serve as ex-officio non-voting members of the Foundation Board of Directors.

In accordance with the Bylaws, there are nine standing committees of the Board of Directors:

  • Executive Committee
  • Advancement Committee
  • Audit Committee
  • Development Committee
  • Finance Committee
  • Governance Committee
  • Investment Committee
  • Nominating Committee
  • Property Committee

Listing of Board Members


  • Mr. Todd Abedon
  • Mr. Johnnie Baxley ’92
  • Mr. Mark J. Buono ’81
  • Ms. Peggy G. Boykin ’81
  • Mr. John B. Carter, Jr.
  • Mr. Eric S. Cox ’93
  • Mr. Scott A. Cracraft ’83
  • Ms. Tina M. Cundari ’96
  • Dr. Neil W. Draisin ’65
  • Mr. George Fraggos, CofC Athletic Fund President
  • Mr. Craig Eney
  • Mrs. Leslie Gambee
  • Mr. Kenneth “Gus” Gustafson ’75
  • Mr. Fleetwood S. Hassell
  • Ms. Amy L. Heyel ’92
  • Mr. Theodore “Vic” Howie, Jr. ’83
  • Ms. Reba Kinne Huge
  • Ms. Jean W. Johnson
  • Mr. Stephen R. Kerrigan
  • Mr. Jeffery E. Kinard ’77
  • Mr. Noah Leask
  • Ms. Mitsy Mangum ‘86
  • Mr. H. Chapman “Chappy” McKay ’86
  • Mr. Justin R. McLain ’98
  • Dr. Charles Mosteller ’81
  • Ms. Tricia Ory ’96, ’97
  • Mr. Rallis Pappas ’78
  • Ms. Laura T. Ricciardelli
  • Mr. R. Keith Sauls ’90
  • Ms. Sherrie C. Snipes-Williams
  • Dr. Sam Stafford III ’68
  • Mr. Derrick Williams ‘99, Alumni Association President
  • Ms. Kathy Williams ‘79

EX-OFFICIO MEMBERS / (non-voting):

  • Dr. Andrew T. Hsu
    President, College of Charleston
  • Beth Middleton Burke ’94
    College of Charleston Board of Trustees,
    Representative to the Foundation Board
  • Cathy Mahon
    Interim Executive Director, College of Charleston Foundation
  • John Loonan
    Executive Vice President, Business Affairs/CFO
    College of Charleston
  • Matt Roberts
    Director of Athletics
  • Alicia D. Caudill
    Executive Vice President
    Student Affairs
  • Amy Takayama-Perez
    Vice President of Enrollment Planning and University Marketing
  • Dr. Suzanne Austin
    Executive Vice President of Academic Affairs/Provost
  • Dr. Renard Harris
    Vice President of Access and Inclusion, Chief Diversity Officer


Want to get in touch?

Cathy Mahon

Interim Executive Director, College of Charleston Foundation

Email: mahonc@cofc.edu
Phone: 843.953.5432

66 George Street
Charleston, SC 29424